// how he loves

I’d never heard John Mark McMillan’s original version of the song How He Loves, written hours after the death of his youth pastor in a car accident, despite having loved the versions by Kim Walker, David Crowder, Jared Anderson and Flyleaf that are out there.

But when the chorus fades at around 6:20 and McMillan breaks into a spontaneous final verse, this is the one that comes out on top as pure, unadorned worship. Seriously, I have been a mess after listening to this the last few days. It is jaw-droppingly intimate. See if you agree:

* * *

“I thought about You the day Stephen died

And You met me between my breaking;

I know that I still love You God,

Despite the agony.

Cos people they want to tell me You’re cruel

But if Stephen could sing,

He’d say it’s not true –

Cos You’re good…”

* * *

  1. My husband and I heard JMM in concert a couple of months ago and heard this song by him and were truly floored. It is such an intimate and beautiful song of praise. Until just now I never knew the story behind it. I love his additional lyrics in this version. God is good and He is faithful.

    • Tom
    • December 18th, 2010

    After hearing this i’d love to see him play in person. There’s something about this new, unpolished and broken style of worship that seems to be spreading lately. It’s great – i remember hearing Tim Hughes talking about a lack of “lament” songs out there as a real oversight, and it’s songs like this, which combine agony and hope, that are some kind of answer to that…

    There’s a video about the story here: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-NXWE6AC8ao

    Thanks for commenting, too! The online recipe book over at your blog looks awesome, and i’m excited to try some of them out in the new year.

  1. December 18th, 2010

Leave a Reply

