// change

A little over a week ago, I mentioned that I’d been thinking about quitting this blog. It’s certainly been a challenge to write lately. The nature of this kind of writing – diffuse and all-encompassing, with a focus that is potentially endless – means that it can be a draining exercise, not to mention the fact that I’ve just started a new job as a youth worker at a church in Oxford and so have less time than before. But for all of that, there is something in me that doesn’t want to give it up.

So the change that I’ve ultimately decided on is a change in routine, more than anything else. Where previously I have written whenever I’ve found time or inspiration to do so, I’m now aiming much smaller. Here’s the plan. I’m going to write an article on some aspect of the interaction between faith and culture every Friday. This is likely to be a post from 1000 to 1500 words taking into account something that has happened that week, either from the news or experiences from my own context.

On Saturdays I’ll post a round up of any particularly good articles or blogs that I’ve come across that week, according to the usual categories (music, books, films, culture and God), and with a view to working out how to live meaningful lives of a faith in the modern world.

And then on Sundays I’ll continue with Sunday music, picking out some of the music and creative ideas that shine a light onto what worship music could sound like, as well as what is out there outside the walls of the church.

Those will be my main focus, and so although I’ll continue to post videos sporadically throughout the week, these won’t show up on a facebook imprint, just an RSS feed. I’m also pretty active on Twitter and so if you follow me there, you’ll get more of an up-to-date feed on when I’ve posted articles etc.

I’m excited about the new direction and about having a bit more structure and focus in the site, so people know what they’re getting when they come here. If I’m honest, i’m also excited about spending less time thinking about site stats, too. So hopefully I’ll manage to post the first Saturday round-up tomorrow and then will work at writing the first essay for next Friday. Please check back then to see what this ends up looking like!

    • Peter
    • November 19th, 2010

    Good stuff will be reading.

    • Rachael
    • November 19th, 2010

    I like it! Don’t forget your friendly housemate guest blogger (who will get around to it, I promise).

    • Andy
    • November 19th, 2010

    Great. Always good to hear what you have to say!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

