// sunday music: matt redman

For the past week I have been working as a Verger at the church I attend, filling in for a member of staff who has been off sick. It’s been a worthwhile experience, overall – manual labour is good for the soul, after all, and it’s provided some much-needed space to think.

The other day, whilst cleaning toilets next door to the prayer room, I rediscovered this lesser-known Matt Redman classic. It’s a great, great song. Apologies for the video quality, but it got me thinking:

*

*

I want my life to be a life of prayer, and I think a lot of us do. We want our every action to be a meditation on God, done in the context of Him. And if the dream of creation is for us to be reunited with God, dwelling in His presence, that ultimately means our whole purpose is to come back into relationship with Him. Everything we do is communication. The vision is that our whole life will be one long prayer, spoken or unspoken.

What exactly would that look like? The writer of Psalm 1 declares,

Blessed is the man who walks not in the counsel of the wicked

Nor stands in the way of sinners

Nor sits in the seat of mockers

But his delight is in the law of the LORD

And on His law he meditates day and night.

Maybe to meditate on God’s law day and night is to make our every action directed towards Him. When the Hebrews talked about “wisdom”, one definition that I’ve heard is that they were talking about “the art of living skilfully”.

I want to be one of those people who lives skilfully, living in such a way that even cleaning toilets can be a prayer, that nothing I do is separate from Him. To know peace even amongst tasks that don’t seem to be changing the world, and to know that my life, lived the way He called me to be, could be a hymn of praise and a sweet-smelling incense to the God of heaven.

How about you?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

